Police recognize exceptional work at annual awards ceremony  

Some placed themselves in personal danger to protect others, some talked suicidal individuals into getting help, and others tackled difficult and dangerous investigations. What they all have in common is that they were honored by the Police Department May 17 for actions that help make Minneapolis a better place to live.

During the department’s annual awards program, Minneapolis Police Chief Tim Dolan and his command staff honored Minneapolis Police personnel as well as staff from other agencies and for their bravery and service to the department and the citizens of the City of Minneapolis during 2011.

Here are the annual award winners -

Highest Reduction in Crime Award - Precinct 3  

Unit Citation – 5th Precinct Day Power/Day Beat

Unit Citation - Robbery/Assault Unit

2011 Investigator of the Year - Sergeant Kelly O’Rourke

2011 Park Police Officer of the Year - Officer Thomas Ryan

2011 Police Officer of the Year - Officer Jeanine Brudenell

All honorees for 2011

Chief’s Award of Merit
Lieutenant Dean Christiansen
Sergeant Robert Bryan, Dept. of Corrections
Sergeant David Burbank
Sergeant David Clifford
Sergeant Mark Koenig
Sergeant Sara Metcalf
Sergeant Andrew Stender (2)
Officer Katie Blackwell
Officer Carl Blad
Officer Jeanine Brudenell
Officer Amy Caspers
Officer Tony Caspers
Officer Mack Dominguez
Officer Yvonne Edwards
Officer Carlos Baires Escobar
Officer Chad Fuchs
Officer Joe Fuller
Officer Valerie Goligowski
Officer Julie Hagen
Officer Dale Hanson
Officer Matthew Heger
Officer Benjamin Henrich
Officer Griffin Hillbo
Officer Darcy Horn
Officer Matthew Kaminski
Officer Jonahs Novak
Officer Melinda Olson
Officer Christine Patino
Officer John Sheneman
Officer Phillip Sosnowski
Officer Chris Smith
Officer Carl White
Officer Juan Valencia
Greg Booth, HCMC Paramedic
Thomas Eggleston
Patricia Eibon
Donald Greeley
Jackie Hanson
Lisa Hatle
Luther Krueger
Christopher Poole
Kimberlee MacDonald
Gary Ritari
Loren Rochford
Joshua Schwartz
Juliann Sikora
Lilly Theis
Aaron Zirzow

Department Award of Merit
Sergeant Michael Friestleben
Sergeant Joel Sandberg
Sergeant Giovanni Veliz
Officer Mohamed Abdullahi
Officer Abdiwahab Ali
Officer James Burns
Officer Christopher Carlson
Officer Craig Crisp
Officer Daniel Diedrich
Officer Joshua Domek
Officer Michael Doran
Officer Nicholas Englund (2)
Officer Tracy Gross
Officer George Judkins
Officer Vicki Karnik
Officer Adam Lepinski
Officer Renee Lewis (2)
Officer David Menter
Officer Jonahs Novak
Officer Lawrence Petersen
Officer Michael Primozich
Officer David Rodriguez Sr.
Officer Thomas Ryan, Park PD
Officer Troy Sandberg, Park PD
Officer Jesse Standal
Officer Jesse Trebesch
Officer Jill Wolf
Kristin Jacobson

Distinguished Service Award
Sergeant Jeffrey Waite
Officer Tim Callahan
Officer William Gregory
Officer Daniel McDonald
Officer Sean McTaggart
Officer Jason Reimer
Officer Bryce Robinson
Officer Matthew Severance
Officer Richard Ross Taylor
Officer Rickey Van Dyke

Medal of Commendation
Sergeant Scott Downing
Sergeant Gregory Freeman
Sergeant Michael Friestleben
Sergeant Steve Mosey
Sergeant Andrew Stender (2)
Officer Brandon Bartholomew
Officer Andrew Bittell
Officer Carl Blad
Officer Troy Carlson
Officer Stephane Courtois
Officer Timothy Devick
Officer Mark Durand
Officer Yvonne Edwards
Officer James Frost
Officer David Garman
Officer Charles Greaves
Officer Daniel Grosland
Officer John Haugland
Officer Charles Herzog
Officer Mark Kaspszak (2)
Officer Shawn Kelly
Officer Joel Kimmerle
Officer Daniel Ledman
Officer Lawrence Loonsfoot
Officer Joshua Metcalf
Officer Ryan O'Hara
Officer Seth Porras
Officer Joel Pucely
Officer Jason Reimer
Officer Michael Rocklin Jr.
Officer Nicholas Rowe
Officer Bradley Schnickel
Officer Peter Stanton
Officer Mark Suchta
Officer Craig Taylor
Officer Kenneth Tidgwell
Officer Roderic Weber
Officer Jer Yang

Citizen’s Life Saving Award
Gary Hodges

Lifesaving Award
Sergeant Myron Taylor
Officer Andrew Allen
Officer Gilles Antaya Jr.
Officer Chad Berdahl, Park PD
Officer Katie Blackwell
Officer Monica Boelter
Officer James Boyd
Officer Sundiata Bronson
Officer Bryan Castle
Officer Joshua Domek
Officer Jon Edwards
Officer Jon Fairbanks
Officer Sarah Frisk
Officer Charles Greaves
Officer Richard Hand
Officer Todd Harder
Officer Daniel Hauth
Officer Matthew Kaminski
Officer Conor McDonough
Officer Jeffrey Mercill
Officer Robert Mooney, Park PD (2)
Officer Jonahs Novak
Officer Matthew Olson
Officer Michael Rocklin Jr.
Officer John Sheneman
Officer Joshua Stewart
Officer Roderic Weber
Officer Joshua Young

Citizen’s Medal of Valor
Oscar Rabanales
Joel Sobaszek

Medal of Valor
Officer Paul Dellwo
Officer Terry Nutter


Published May 23, 2012



Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 


311 call center

TTY relay service

City of Minneapolis Facebook City of Minneapolis Twitter City of Minneapolis YouTube ChaNNEL Minneapolis 311 Minneapolis 14 Government TV City of Minneapolis LinkedIn

Minneapolis, City of Lakes logo