Sign up for classes on effectively engaging with diverse communities

Sign up for a learning lab series to better understand several of the many cultural communities in Minneapolis. The Neighborhood and Community Relations Department will teach best practices and techniques for equitable community engagement so City staff and Minneapolis’ communities can work together better.

The series offers eight classes; each class repeats at a different time and location.

Effectively planning for community engagement

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, July 19
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 132

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, July 20
Location TBD

American Indian community

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, July 26
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 9
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

Southeast Asian community

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 3
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 9
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

Latino community

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Aug. 30
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Sept. 14
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

East African community

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Aug. 24
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 6
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

Disability awareness

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 13
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 132

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 12
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

African-American community

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Sept. 27
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Oct. 26
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

How intersectionality can affect engagement

12:30-2 p.m. Wednesday, Oct. 4
City Hall, 350 S. Fifth St., Room 241

5:30-7 p.m. Thursday, Nov. 30
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

Participant recognition

Noon-1 p.m., Wednesday, Oct. 25
City Hall, Room 319

5:30-6:30 p.m., Thursday, Dec. 7
East Side Neighborhood Services, 1700 Second St. NE

Sign up in COMET.

These learning labs support the City goal of One Minneapolis: Disparities are eliminated so all Minneapolis residents can participate and prosper.

For more information, visit the NCR page.

 

Published Jun 27, 2017

QUICK LINKS

Home

Contact us

Email updates

Find a service

About this site

For employees

Accessibility:
For reasonable accommodations or alternative formats, contact 311.
People who are deaf or hard of hearing can use a relay service to call 311 at 612-673-3000.
TTY users can call 612-673-2157 or 612-673-2626.

Para asistencia 612-673-2700, Yog xav tau kev pab, hu 612-637-2800, Hadii aad Caawimaad u baahantahay 612-673-3500. 

CONNECT

311 call center

TTY relay service

 

facebook25x25 twitter25x25 youtube25x25 Minneapolis311icon logo tv 14 footer icon image linkedin_32x32




mpls-logo-white120