Minnesota POST License
What is POST?
POST stands for Peace Officer Standards and Training.
POST is the governing body of all police officers in Minnesota. For more information on its purpose and function, visit the MN POST website.
How do I become POST licensed?
The Minnesota POST Board licenses peace officers. A license must be maintained and is subject to various ongoing requirements.
There are 3 paths to become eligible to be licensed; the final step of each is to pass the Peace Officer Licensing Exam:
- Complete a Professional Peace Officer Education (PPOE) post-secondary degree program. See local law enforcement education programs.
- Complete a certificate program. This is for someone who already has a post-secondary degree in another field.
- Become licensed is through reciprocity. To qualify, an individual must either:
- Have been a Peace Officer in another state or have been a Federal Peace Officer and worked for a minimum of 3 years with a post-secondary degree; or have worked for 5 years without a degree, or
- Have been on active duty as a Military Police Officer for a minimum of 5 years and have been honorably discharged.
Note: Minnesota does not have a state police academy as many other states do.
What does the term "eligible to be licensed" mean? I keep seeing that phrase in job announcements.
Eligible to be licensed means that you have completed all of the educational or Reciprocity requirements and passed the Minnesota Peace Officer Licensing Exam. Once you have passed the exam, you can be hired anytime within the following three years. After being hired by a law enforcement agency, you can work as a peace officer.
Are there any other requirements to become licensed? For example, eyesight, fitness, criminal history, etc?
At the time a person who is eligible to be licensed is offered a job, they have to meet certain selection criteria that are used by the hiring agency.
Physical standards (eyesight, hearing, fitness, etc.) are determined through a required medical exam. The State of Minnesota does not set standards in these areas. The Minneapolis Police Department applies standards to specific positions. Physical requirements will be listed with the job posting.
Criminal history is also addressed through an extensive background check. Automatic disqualifiers are listed in Licensing Requirements – these are usually related to felony convictions and any level of theft or assault. Driving misdemeanors are not necessarily disqualifiers, but are left to the judgment of the hiring authority. For example, multiple traffic violations would not necessarily bar you from obtaining a peace officer license, but your chances of being hired would be greatly diminished.
When is the POST Exam given?
The Peace Officer Licensing Exam is only given on the third Friday of every even-numbered month. The application deadline is always 14 days prior to the exam. A completed application is valid for up to one year. See License Exam Schedule.
Is there a POST study guide to prepare for the Exam?
No. The exam covers the material covered during the applicant's PPOE program. However, this material is based on the learning objectives developed by the POST Board and it may be helpful to have a copy of them to review.
Note: the learning objectives are primarily an outline and contain little actual information necessary to pass the exam. If you have questions about how to prepare for the POST Exam, please contact your PPOE Coordinator to see if he or she has any suggestions.
The learning objectives are also available from the Minnesota Bookstore at (651) 297-3000 or at 1-800-657-3757.
How long does my eligibility to be licensed last?
Your eligibility is good for three years from the date you passed the examination. If you do not become licensed within that period you must re-pass the POST exam again.
How do I maintain my license?
To maintain a peace officer license or a part-time peace officer license, you must renew once every three years, earn at least 48 credits of continuing education and pay the license renewal fee. Credits are pro-rated during the officer's first renewal depending on the time between initial hire and the date of the first renewal. Renewal fees are not pro-rated.
For more information:
Last updated Mar 28, 2019