Government structure

The City operates under an “Executive Mayor – Legislative Council” system of government.


Mayor Frey updated his recommended executive government structure proposal on June 15, 2022. His proposed structure features four direct reports to the Mayor:

  • City Operations Officer
  • City Attorney
  • Community Safety Commissioner
  • Chief of Staff

Learn more about the proposed new structure

For background on how he came to this proposal, see the recommendations of the Government Structure Work Group.

Read the Work Group report

In November 2021, Minneapolis voters approved an amendment to the City Charter to adopt an Executive Mayor - Legislative Council form of government.

Learn more about the charter amendment

Proposed government structure

This diagram show the four direct reports to the Mayor. It also shows how the Mayor would organize City departments under those positions.

View full screen

Latest news

Request accessible format

If you need help with this information, please email 311, or call 311 or 612-673-3000.

Please tell us what format you need. It will help us if you say what assistive technology you use.

City Clerk & Clerk of Council






City Hall
350 Fifth St. S., Room 304
Minneapolis, MN 55415

Office hours

8 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.
Monday – Friday

See list of City holidays